22.9 C
Thursday, June 20, 2024

JUNGE AKADEMIE, E-WERK and VISIT award further scholarships on the subject of ‘’Man-Machine‘’

Editors’ Choice

The JUNGE AKADEMIE, the international scholarship programme of the Akademie der Künste, is offering a further four scholarships for 2025 for international emerging artists from all artistic disciplines on the topic of ‘Man-Machine’. The scholarships will be awarded in cooperation with VISIT, the artist-in-residence programme of the E.ON Foundation, and E-WERK Luckenwalde. The scholarship programme serves to promote projects at the interface of art, science and ecology; the focus of the call is on the artistic approach to questions of sustainability in the field of digital technologies, in particular artificial intelligence.

Image above: Akademie der Künste, Pariser Platz © Erik-Jan Ouwerkerk

The scholarships are endowed with 20,000 euros including project funds. Studios at E-WERK Luckenwalde and the Akademie der Künste in the Hansaviertel neighbourhood are available for the four scholarship holders. Events are also planned at both locations. The jury consists of Anna Gritz, Director, Haus am Waldsee; Anh-Linh Ngo, architecture journalist, curator, editor-in-chief, Vice President of the Akademie der Künste, Berlin; Tiara Roxanne, artist and researcher; Sinthujan Varatarajah, author and scientist, Laura Helena Wurth, journalist and writer.

Artists can now apply online for a scholarship in 2025:  https://visit-energy.com/bewerben
Application deadline is 31 July 2024.
Applicants will be informed of the outcome in October. The residencies will take place from spring 2025 and include a three-month stay in Berlin.

The ‘Man-Machine’ programme supports international artists from all artistic disciplines who deal with digital technologies and artificial intelligence in the broadest sense, who in particular question the Western history of progress and dualisms such as the ‘artificial’ and the ‘natural’; who enable new patterns of thought, narratives and approaches to the world in the context of the topic and explore urgent aspects of the current situation of society and the planet. The scholarship holders of the past years are Sahej Rahal (2020), Natasha Tontey (2021), Petja Ivanova (2022), Tin Wilke and Laura Fong Prosper (2022), Thuy-Han Nguyen-Chi, Sonya Isupova, Maithu Bùi, Franziska Aigner & HSURAE (2023/2024).

- Advertisement -spot_img



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

+++++++++ O P E N C A L L 2024 +++++++++

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest article