20.2 C
Monday, June 17, 2024

Kelly Tissot receives the Paul Ege Art Prize 2024

Editors’ Choice

Kelly Tissot is the seventh winner of this year’s Paul Ege Art Prize. The prizewinner will present her work in a solo exhibition, which will be shown at the PEAC Museum this year as part of the anniversary exhibition Between White Walls… in the museum.

Image above: Kelly Tissot, 2023 © Kelly Tissot. Foto: Damien Juillard

The award ceremony and exhibition opening will take place on Friday, 7 June 2024, at 7 pm at the PEAC Museum.

The Paul Ege Art Prize, endowed with 10,000 euros, is awarded every three years by the Ege Art and Culture Foundation in cooperation with the Cultural Office of the City of Freiburg. The prize is in memory of the Freiburg entrepreneur and patron of the arts Paul Ege, who died in 2019, and is aimed at young artists up to the age of 35 who come from or work in the border triangle (DE, CH, FR). Previous winners are Kathrin Herzner, Vera Mayer, Christoph Poetsch, Maria Tackmann, Judith Kakon and Laura Sacher.

Kelly Tissot Polka (I-VI), 2021 Digital UV-Druck auf Aluminium, Tannenholz, 150×110 cm (jeweils) Installationsansicht: suns.works, Zürich (CH) Foto: Claude Barault

Kelly Tissot was born in France in 1995, completed her Bachelor’s degree at the Ecole Cantonale d’Art in Lausanne in 2018 and her Master’s degree at the Hochschule für Gestaltung und Kunst in Basel in 2020, where she currently lives and works.

After the first act of the anniversary exhibition Between White Walls… focused on the PEAC Museum’s collection through the PEAC Spotlight format, the solo presentation by Kelly Tissot from 7 June to 21 July 2024 now forms the second act of the exhibition.

Kelly Tissot Dubious portrait and improper meeting / Grower, 2022 Digital UV-Druck auf Aluminium, 290x210cm Installationsansicht: Spurious Crops, 2022, Kunsthaus Baselland, Muttenz (CH) Foto: Gina Folly

The prize is awarded in a two-stage process consisting of a nomination committee and a jury. The members of the nomination committee this year were Iris Hasler, Associate Curator, Fondation Beyerle (CH), Samuel Leuenberger, Director, SALTS (CH), Elfi Turpin, Director, CRAC Alsace (FR). The jury consisted of Aoife Rosenmeyer, art critic (CH), Marijke van Warmerdam, artist and professor, Kunstakademie Karlsruhe (DE), and Sandrine Wymann, director, La Kunsthalle Mulhouse (FR).

- Advertisement -spot_img



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

+++++++++ O P E N C A L L 2024 +++++++++

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest article