24.7 C
Friday, May 24, 2024

Kit Armstrong – Schloss Neuhardenberg | 01.06.2024

Editors’ Choice

On 1 June 2024, star pianist and organist Kit Armstrong will perform one of the most important organ works in history in the Schinkel-Kirche in Neuhardenberg: Franz Liszt’s Fantasia and Fugue on the chorale Ad nos, ad salutarem undam. The premiere of this unusually symphonic and extremely virtuoso organ work in Merseburg Cathedral in 1855 was a musical sensation and a celebrated social event.

Image above: Portrait Kit Armostrong, Foto: Marco Borggreve, Courtesy: Schloss Neuhardenberg

In 1924, exactly 100 years ago, Carl Hans Graf von Hardenberg donated a new organ to the Schinkel-Kirche in Neuhardenberg, an instrument made by the renowned organ builder W. Sauer in Frankfurt/Oder. Just in time for the anniversary and after extensive restoration of the historic instrument in recent years, Liszt’s masterpiece will now be played on it on 1 June 2024 at 7 pm.

DEEDS.NEWS - Schloss Neuhardenberg - Schinkel-Kirche Neuhardenberg - FotoAndreas Beetz-min
Image above: Schinkel-Kirche Neuhardenberg, Foto: Andreas Beetz, Courtesy: Schloss Neuhardenberg

The Austrian pianist Alfred Brendel called Kit Armstrong “the greatest musical talent” he had ever encountered in his life. As part of a discussion concert, the young star pianist takes his audience on a journey through music and his own life. In addition to Liszt’s Fantasie, works by Bach, Mozart and William Byrd will be performed on the piano and organ, as well as the world premiere of one of his own compositions.
Kit Armstrong talks to journalist Inge Kloepfer about his life, music and the challenges of a breathtaking career as a soloist.

on the Sauer-Orgel:
Johann Sebastian Bach: Trio Sonata No. 1 in E flat major, 1st movement, BWV 525
Charles-Marie Widor: Toccata in F major from the 5th Organ Symphony, op. 42 No. 1
Franz Liszt: from Fantasy and Fugue on the chorale Ad nos, ad salutarem undam by Giacomo Meyerbeer
on the piano:
Johann Sebastian Bach: Prelude in C major, BWV 846 (from: The Well-Tempered Clavier, Part 1)
William Byrd: Walsingham
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Sonata No. 17 in B flat major, 3rd movement Allegretto, KV570
Kit Armstrong: World premiere of a new composition


Saturday, 01 June 2024, at 7 pm: Liszts Meisterkomposition.


Schinkel-Kirche Neuhardenberg
Sybelstraße 63
10629 Berlin


Price group I:
€ 36,- / reduced and NHB-Card € 28,-
Price group II:
€ 29,- / reduced and NHB-Card € 22,-

- Advertisement -spot_img



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

+++++++++ O P E N C A L L 2024 +++++++++

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest article