12.6 C
Monday, March 4, 2024

The Karl Schmidt-Rottluff Grant as a guest at the Brücke Museum | 04.09.-03.10.2022

Editors’ Choice

The Brücke-Museum presents the 14 finalists of the Karl Schmidt-Rottluff Förderstipendium. The sponsorship award is a prize genuinely intended by an artist for artists to promote young talent.

image above: Nicolas Fehr, Foto: Lukas Klose

The artist Karl Schmidt-Rottluff (1884-1976) established two foundations with very different objectives shortly before his death: The Karl and Emy Schmidt-Rottluff Foundation manages the artist’s artistic estate and legacy and provides financial support to the Brücke Museum. The Karl Schmidt-Rottluff Förderungsstiftung has been promoting young artists since 1975. For two years, promising young artists are supported by a monthly scholarship, which allows them to concentrate on their artistic work. Former scholarship holders include renowned artists such as Isa Genzken (1978), Marcel Odenbach (1989), Katharina Grosse (1995) and Henrike Naumann (2018).

Candidates are nominated for the Karl Schmidt-Rottluff Scholarship. Candidates are nominated primarily by the art academies in Germany and former scholarship holders, as well as by a changing group of personalities from the visual arts. The selection procedure has two stages. On the basis of the submitted documents, a jury decides in a pre-selection which applicants will be invited to the main selection procedure to present their work. Between three and five scholarships can be awarded. The winners will be announced on 5 September 2022.

This year, the Brücke Museum will exhibit this main selection of the nominees of the Karl Schmidt-Rottluff Scholarship in connection with its initiator Karl Schmidt-Rottluff.

DEEDS NEWS - Frieda Toranzo Jaeger
Frieda Toranzo Jaeger, Foto: Jens Ziehe

Since its inception, the Karl Schmidt-Rottluff Scholarship has cooperated with the Studienstiftung, which is responsible for its conception and implementation. Since 2007, the Marianne Ingenwerth Foundation in the Donors’ Association for the Promotion of Sciences and Humanities in Germany has also been a cooperation partner and provides financial support for the scholarship.

Finalist: Matej Bosnić, Cudelice Brazelton IV, Nicolas Fehr, Lea Gocht, Lena Gross-mann, Daniel Hopp, Larissa Rosa Lackner, Mira Mann, Jonas Monka, Irina Ojovan, Antonia Rodrian, Andrėja Šaltytė, Lisa Marie Schmitt, Frieda Toranzo Jaeger

Programme Management Karl Schmidt-Rottluff Scholarship: Dr. Julia Apitzsch-Haack (Team Leader Berlin Studienstiftung Office & Head of Arts).
Programme Coordination: Anna Teckentrup.


Brücke-Museum, Bussardsteig 9, 14195 Berlin


Wednesday to Monday: 11  am –  5 pm
Tuesday closed

- Advertisement -spot_img



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

+++++++++ O P E N C A L L 2024 +++++++++

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest article